Fulton Awards 2017: Call for nominations


Fulton Awards 2017: Call for nominations

The Concrete Society of Southern Africa NPC is calling for nominations for its prestigious biennial Fulton Awards which recognise and honour excellence and innovation in the design and use of concrete.

FAIRSCAPE: Close up of diagrid facade showing all it's characteristics

FAIRSCAPE: Close up of diagrid facade showing all it’s characteristics

The awards continue to celebrate the legacy of scientific and technological advances in concrete within the built environment, and the late Dr. ‘Sandy’ Fulton’s life and achievements in the industry.

The 2017 awards include new categories and a new approach to judging, and the Society is proud to announce that PPC is once again, the anchor sponsor for the Awards.

The categories for 2017 are:

Category title

Typical examples

Buildings up to three storeys

Residential, schools, commercial, factories, warehousing and industrial.

Buildings more than three storeys

Office buildings and multi-family housing.


Slabs, paving and hardscape.


Bridges, roads, water resources, marine structures, power and transportation.

Innovation in Concrete

Initiatives where totally new materials, techniques, technologies, applications, designs, and/or concepts, using concrete as the principal material.

Architectural Concrete

Use of concrete as the principal construction material, demonstrating a unique and exceptional structure, surface finish or particular detail in an aesthetic manner.


Special or unusual concrete applications within the mining sector.

Nominations can be made on-line through the Society’s website and will require a short motivation as to why it is felt that the nomination is worthy of an award. The judges will assess these nominations and a short-list of entries will be drawn up for subsequent adjudication on site.

Posted in General.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *