Wilmot elected President of MBA North

mba_n_logorgbWilmot elected President of MBA North

Master Builders Association North elected Jason Wilmot, director of Sir John Hire, as President at its 113th Annual General Meeting held in Midrand on 2 February 2017. Musa Shangase, Commercial Director of Corobrik was elected Vice President and Wayne Albertyn of Gothic Construction as Junior Vice President.

1-MBA N-PRES-2017-IMG_2810

Musa Shangase, Jason Wilmot and Wayne Albertyn

Bongani Malazi as re-elected President of the MBA North Youth Forum for a second two year term.

Also resent at this auspicious occasion were Honorary life members Peter Buchel, Nico Maas and Rob Giuricich; and Past President’s Nico Maas, Neil Duncan and Lee Smith. 

During my tenure as President I believe we have achieved the goal of building a solid team around the MBAN Executive Director,” said outgoing President Tony Riley. “The new staff are of a high calibre and are key to is energised Association achieving its goals.

During the 2016 financial year the drawdowns on the Association’s reserves were reduced by 30 percent. This continues the effort by the whole MBA North team to ultimately eliminate drawdowns entirely in 2017/2018.

Transformation of the Organisation is key to long term success and industry relevance, the MBAN has continued the journey in 2016 and this has seen the face of the Executive team change significantly.

It is my belief that at times like these, the relevance of MBAN and other MBA associations countrywide are at their strongest. It is our role to represent the interests of our members at the highest level at all times, from a position of being the voice of the industry, within the auspices of the Master Builders South Africa (MBSA),” concluded Riley.

Master Builders Association – North Executive Committee for 2017/2018 is as follows:

Mr Wayne Albertyn – Gothic Construction

Mr Rob Blackbeard – Steel Studio

Mr Brad Boertje – Liviero

Mr Deon Calitz – WBHO Construction

Ms Penny Cornelius – Pro-Plan Construction

Mr Jose Correia – Tiber Construction

Mr Mandla Danisa – 4Square Projects Group

Mr I Duncan – Kevin Bates Flooring & Carpeting

Mr Werner Kroon – W.F Kroon Projects

Mr Bongani Malaza – Ubuhlebethu Business Enterprise

Mr James Martin – SA Paving

Ms Gretchen Matthews – Constructive Consulting Group

Mr Andrew McFarlane – Damp King

Mr Christian Micha – Archstone Construction

Mr Sello Mokawane – SNS Plumbing & Projects

Mr Michael Moloto – M2M Projects

Mr Tony Riley – Builders Warehouse

Mr Musa Shangase – Corobrik

Mr Fanie Stadler – Murray & Roberts

Ms Liana van der Walt – Edelweiss Glass & Aluminium

Mr J Wilmot – Sir John Hire

Mr H Wolfswinkel – HJ Wolfswinkel

Mr Moses Maponyane – Liviero has been nominated as a co-opted Exco Committee member


Master Builders Association North Executive Committee 2017/2018: Standing from Left: Mr C Micha, Mr B Malaza, Mr F Stadler, Mr M Shangase, Mr J Wilmot, Mr W Albertyn, Mr J Martin, Mr W Kroon, Mr H Wolfswinkel Seated from Left: Mr S Mokawane, Mr M Danisa, Mr B Boertje, Ms G Matthews, Mr M Mphomela, Mr T Riley, Mr M Maponyane

3-MBA N-IMG_2796

Rob Price

Guest speaker Rob Price, economist for Investment Solutions in a pragmatic yet light-hearted way spoke of “2017 – The Year After the End of The World,” reflecting a degree of optimism for the future. Despite tough conditions there is a sliver lining on the horizon.

Posted in MBA and MBSA news and tagged , , .

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *